No. S82, Friday 14 May 1993

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory

ACT Legislative Assembly

PROPOSED DISTRIBUTION OF ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES

The ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed distribution of the ACT into electorates for the ACT Legislative Assembly. This notice shows maps of the proposed electorates. Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electorates to the ACT Electoral Commission.

WHY IS A DISTRIBUTION TAKING PLACE?

On 15 February 1992 a referendum was held to enable the electors of the ACT to choose a voting system to be used at future elections for the Legislative Assembly. A majority of electors chose the proportional representation (Hare-Clark) system. The Legislative Assembly subsequently passed the *Electoral Act 1992*, providing for the division of the ACT into three electorates, as the first stage of implementing the Hare-Clark system. Two electorates will elect five members to the Legislative Assembly, and one electorate will elect seven members.

THE PROPOSED DISTRIBUTION

The distribution is carried out in accordance with the *Electoral Act 1992*. This notice indicates the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and the number of members to be elected in each electorate. More detailed information, including a statement by the Redistribution Committee giving reasons for its proposed distribution, a more detailed map showing the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and a statistical summary showing the composition of each proposed electorate can be obtained from the office of the ACT Electoral Commission. Also available are copies of the suggestions and comments provided to the Committee by members of the public.

OBJECTIONS TO THE PROPOSED DISTRIBUTION

Interested persons or organisations may lodge written objections to the proposed distribution with the ACT Electoral Commission. Objections must be received by 11 June 1993.

Objections should be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission at:

Office of the ACT Electoral Commission 3rd Floor ACT Administration Centre 1 Constitution Avenue CANBERRA CITY ACT 2601 Telephone: (06) 205 0236

Postal address: PO Box 272 CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS FOR A DISTRIBUTION

In making its proposed distribution, the Redistribution Committee is bound by section 30 of the *Electoral Act 1992*, and section 67D of the Commonwealth *Australian Capital Territory (Self–Government Act) 1988*. The Self Government Act sets out the following formula for calculating a **quota**:

Number of Territory electors X Number of electorate members Number of Territory members

In summary, the Electoral Act and the Self-Government Act provide that the Redistribution Committee shall -

- (a) ensure that the number of electors in an electorate immediately after the redistribution is within the range of not greater than 110%, or less than 90% of the quota;
- (b) endeavour to ensure, as far as practicable, that the number of electors in an electorate at the time of the next general election of members of the Legislative Assembly will not be greater than 105%, or less than 95%, of the expected quota for the electorate at that time; and
- (c) duly consider --
 - (i) the community of interests within each proposed electorate, including economic, social and regional interests;
 - (ii) the means of communication and travel within each proposed electorate;
 - (iii) the physical features and area of each proposed electorate;
 - (iv) the boundaries of existing electorates; and
 - (v) the boundaries of divisions and sections fixed under the Districts Act 1966.

Copies of the Electoral Act 1992 and the Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government Act) 1988 can be obtained from the Commonwealth Government Bookshop.

WHO CONSIDERS OBJECTIONS TO THE PROPOSED DISTRIBUTION?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposals will be considered by the augmented ACT Electoral Commission. The augmented Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Graham Glenn), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Gary Whitley, who is Chairperson of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Dr Christabel Young) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the Chief Planner (Mr George Tomlins), the Chief Surveyor (Mr Edwin Hyde) and an appointed member (Mrs Jan Woodward). The augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed distribution.

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory Gary Whitley George Tomlins Edwin Hyde Jan Woodward

Australian Capital Territory Gazette No. S82, 14 May 1993



Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au