No. S179, Wednesday 24 July 1996

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory

ACT LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

Proposed Redistribution of Electoral Boundaries

The ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries. This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates. Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

Proposed Redistribution

The Redistribution Committee has proposed that there be no change to the existing boundaries. The current electorates are:

- BRINDABELLA, a 5 member electorate, comprising Tuggeranong, the Woden suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;
- GINNINDERRA, another 5 member electorate comprising Belconnen and Hall; and
- MOLONGLO, a 7 member electorate comprising Gungahlin, North Canberra, South Canberra, Weston Creek and Woden, excluding the Woden suburbs of Chifley, Pearce and Torrens.

The redistribution is being carried out in accordance with the Electoral Act 1992.

More detailed information, including a statement by the Committee giving reasons for its proposed redistribution, a map showing the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and a statistical summary showing the composition of each proposed electorate can be obtained from the office of the ACT Electoral Commission. Also available are copies of the suggestions and comments provided to the Committee by members of the public.

Australian Capital Territory Gazette No. S179, 24 July 1996

Objections

Interested persons or organisations may lodge written objections to the proposed redistribution with the ACT Electoral Commission. Objections must be lodged with the Commission by 21 August 1996 at:

ACT Electoral Commission Ground Floor, ACTAC Building 1 Constitution Avenue Canberra City ACT 2601 Telephone: (06) 205 0033 Postal address: PO Box 272 CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

Fax: (06) 205 0382

Who considers objections?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposal will be considered by the augmented ACT Electoral Commission. The augmented Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Graham Glenn), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Phillip Green, who is Chairperson of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Dr Christabel Young) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the Chief Planner (Mr Gary Prattley), the Acting Chief Surveyor (Mr Rod Menzies) and an appointed member (Mrs Jan Woodward). The augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory Phillip Green Gary Prattley Rod Menzies Jan Woodward

