## No. S222, Wednesday 28 August 1996

## ACT TABLE OF PRECEDENCE

I, Kate Carnell, Chief Minister for the Australian Capital Territory, approved the following ACT Table of Precedence on 13 August 1996.

- 1. Governor-General
- 2. Chief Minister of the ACT
- 3. Prime Minister of Australia
- 4. State Premiers according to the population of their respective States and then the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory.
- 5. Speaker of the ACT Legislative Assembly
- 6. President of the Senate
- 7. Speaker of the House of Representatives
- 8. Ministers of the ACT Government
- 9. Ambassadors and High Commissioners according to their seniority within the Diplomatic Corps in Australia
- 10. (a) Former Governors-General with precedence given to the most recent leaving office
  (b) Former Chief Ministers of the ACT with precedence given to the most recent leaving office
  (c) Former Prime Ministers with precedence given to the most recent leaving office
- 11. Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the ACT
- 12 Federal Ministers
- 13. Leader of the Opposition in the ACT
- 14. Federal Leader of the Opposition
- 15. Privy Councillors
- 16. Chief of Defence Force
- 17. Chief Justice of Australia
- 18 Justices of the Courts of the ACT according to the dates of first appointment to that Office
- 19. Master of the Supreme Court
- 20. Chief Magistrate of the ACT
- 21. Magistrates of the ACT according to the dates of their first appointment in that Office
- Judges of the Federal Courts of Australia according to the dates of first appointment to that Office
- 23. Judges of State and Territory Supreme Courts according to the dates of first appointment to that Office
- 24. Members of the ACT Legislative Assembly
- 25 Members of the Senate representing the ACT
- 26. Members of the House of Representatives for the ACT
- 27. Other Federal Members of Parliament
- 28. Chief Executive of the Chief Minister's Department
- 29. Chancellor of the Australian National University
- 30. Chancellor of the University of Canberra
- 31. Heads of churches and religious organisations according to the numbers of adherents in the ACT by the ABS Census figures
- 32. Senior officers in command of the military forces according to seniority of rank and date of appointment

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

- 33. Lord Mayors of State capital cities
- 34. Mayors of other Australian cities
- 35. Agency Heads of ACT Government Departments
- 36. Secretaries/Chief Executives of Departments of the Australian Public Service and other Public Services
- 37. Recipients of decorations and honours taking precedence above an Officer of the Order of Australia in accordance with the order shown in the Australian Order of Precedence of Honours and Awards.

Hote Carell

Kate Carnell MLA Chief Minister