# Heritage (Representative Aboriginal Organisations) Declaration 2006 (No 1)\*

#### Notifiable instrument NI2006-298

made under the

Heritage Act 2004, s14 (representative Aboriginal organisation)

## 1 Name of instrument

This instrument is *Heritage (Representative Aboriginal Organisations) Declaration 2006 (No 1)*.

### 2 Commencement

This instrument commences the day after notification

### 3 Declaration of entities

Under section 14 (7) of the *Heritage Act 2004* ("the Act"), I declare the following entities to be Representative Aboriginal Organisations:

'Buru Ngunawal Aboriginal Corporation', Chair Mr Don Bell, 4 Gasking Close, Dunlop ACT 2615;

'Consultative Body Aboriginal Corporation on Indigenous Land and Artefacts in the Ngunnawal Area', Chair Mr Carl Brown, 85 Barracks Flat Drive Queanbeyan NSW 2602;

'Ngarigu Currawong Clan' Chair Mr Tony Boye, 6 Buckman Place Melba ACT 2615; and

'Little Gudgenby River Tribal Council', Chair Ms Matilda House, Paul House, Maria Williams & Louise Brown, 6 McNamara Street Pearce ACT 2607.

<sup>\*</sup>Name amended under Legislation Act, s 60

## 4 Scope of consultation

Under the Act, representative Aboriginal organisations fulfill an important role in the identification and management of Aboriginal cultural heritage places and objects in the ACT.

These organisations are consulted about:

- the development of heritage guidelines relating to Aboriginal cultural heritage places and objects;
- Heritage Council decisions about provisional registration of Aboriginal places and objects
- Heritage Council decisions about cancellation of registration of Aboriginal heritage places and objects
- the heritage significance of Aboriginal cultural heritage places and objects
- Heritage Council decisions about restricted information regarding Aboriginal cultural heritage places and objects
- the Minister's decision about declaring a repository for Territoryowned Aboriginal cultural heritage objects
- the impacts of proposed development on Aboriginal heritage places and objects

There is no provision for organisations to be remunerated for consultation under the Act

John Hargreaves MLA Minister for the Territory and Municipal Services 15 August 2006