## Electoral (Proposed Redistribution of Electoral Boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly) Notice 2007

Notifiable instrument NI 2007 — 156

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 44 (Notification and publication of proposal)

The 2007 ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries.

This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates. Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

## **Proposed Redistribution**

The Committee proposes that the current electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly be altered as follows:

- The suburb of Farrer be transferred from Molonglo to Brindabella; and
- The suburb of Palmerston be transferred from Molonglo to Ginninderra.

The proposed electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Farrer, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburbs of Nicholls and Palmerston; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburbs of Nicholls and Palmerston), Canberra Central, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Farrer, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

The redistribution is being carried out in accordance with the *Electoral Act 1992*.

More detailed information, including a statement by the Committee giving reasons for its proposed redistribution, a map showing the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and a statistical summary showing the composition of each proposed electorate can be obtained from the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, or from the Commission's website at www.elections.act.gov.au. Also available are copies of the suggestions and comments provided to the Committee by members of the public.

## **Objections**

Written objections must be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission by 28 June 2007.

Objections should be lodged at:

ACT Electoral Commission Level 2, 12 Moore Street CANBERRA ACT 2601

Phone: (02) 6205 0033, Fax: (02) 6205 0382

Email: elections@act.gov.au

Postal Address: PO Box 272, CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

## Who considers objections?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposal will be considered by the augmented ACT Electoral Commission. The augmented Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Roger Beale), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Phillip Green, who is chairperson of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Dr Christabel Young) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority (Mr Neil Savery), the Commissioner for Surveys (Mr Frank Blanchfield) and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics (Ms Karen Macdonald). The augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Phillip Green Neil Savery Frank Blanchfield Karen Macdonald

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory

28 May 2007

