Electoral (Proposed Redistribution of Electorates for the ACT Legislative Assembly by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission) Notice 2007

Notifiable instrument NI 2007 — 216

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 51 (Publication of augmented electoral commission's proposal)

The 2007 Augmented ACT Electoral Commission has prepared a proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries.

This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates. Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

Proposed Redistribution

On 31 May 2007, public objections were invited to the Redistribution Committee's proposed electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly. The Redistribution Committee had proposed the transfer of the suburb of Farrer from Molonglo to Brindabella and the transfer of the suburb of Palmerston from the electorate of Molonglo to the electorate of Ginninderra.

Following its consideration of objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposed electorates, the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission proposes that the current electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly be altered as follows:

• The suburb of Farrer be transferred from Molonglo to Brindabella.

The proposed electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Farrer, Pearce and Torrens and the southern remainder of the ACT;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburb of Nicholls; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburb of Nicholls), Canberra Central, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Farrer, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

The redistribution is being carried out in accordance with the *Electoral Act 1992*.

As the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission considers that its proposal is significantly different from the Redistribution Committee's proposal, written objections to its proposal are invited in accordance with section 51 of the Electoral Act.

More detailed information, including a statement by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission giving reasons for its proposed redistribution, a map showing the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and a statistical summary showing the composition of each proposed electorate can be obtained from the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, or from the Commission's website at www.elections.act.gov.au. Also available are copies of the suggestions, comments and objections provided to the Committee by members of the public.

Objections to Augmented Electoral Commission's Proposal

Written objections must be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission by 23 August 2007.

Objections should be lodged at:

ACT Electoral Commission Level 2, 12 Moore Street CANBERRA ACT 2601

Phone: (02) 6205 0033, Fax: (02) 6205 0382

Email: elections@act.gov.au

Postal Address: PO Box 272, CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

Who considers objections?

Objections will be considered by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission. The Augmented ACT Electoral Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Roger Beale AO), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Phillip Green, who is chairperson of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Dr Christabel Young) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority (Mr Neil Savery), the acting Commissioner for Surveys (Mr Bill Hirst) and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics (Ms Karen Macdonald). The Augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Roger Beale Phillip Green Christabel Young 24/07/07 24/07/07 24/07/07

24/07/07 24/07/07

Neil Savery Karen Macdonald Bill Hirst 23/07/07 23/07/07 23/07/07 23/07/07

Augmented ACT Electoral Commission

