Electoral (Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly) Notice 2015

Notifiable instrument NI2015—132

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 44 (Notification and publication of proposal)

1 Name of instrument

This instrument is the *Electoral (Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly) Notice 2015.*

2 Commencement

This instrument commences on the day after it is notified.

3 Documents available for public inspection

The 2015 ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed redistribution of the electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly.

This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates and a description of the composition of each electorate.

The Redistribution Committee has prepared a report on its proposed redistribution including its statement of reasons for the proposed redistribution.

The following information is available for public inspection at the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, Ground floor, North Building, Civic Square, London Circuit, Canberra City and on the ACT Electoral Commission website www.elections.act.gov.au:

- (a) Suggestions and comments given to the Redistribution Committee in accordance with section 41 of the Electoral Act;
- (b) A written description and a map of the boundaries of each proposed electorate;
- (c) A statement of the number of Members of the ACT Legislative Assembly proposed to be elected from each proposed electorate; and
- (d) The Redistribution Committee's report on its proposed redistribution including its statement of reasons for the proposed electorates.

4 Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly

The Committee proposes that the electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly be as follows:

Brindabella, a 5-Member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Kambah and that portion of Tuggeranong District adjacent to Kambah to the west of Athllon Drive) and the districts of Booth, Cotter River, Paddys River, Rendezvous Creek, Tennent and Mount Clear;

Ginninderra, a 5-Member electorate comprising the district of Belconnen (excluding the suburbs of Evatt, Giralang, Kaleen, Lawson and McKellar and that portion of Belconnen District adjacent to the Barton Highway);

Kurrajong, a 5-Member electorate comprising the districts of Canberra Central, Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen and Majura;

Murrumbidgee, a 5-Member electorate comprising the districts of Molonglo Valley, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Coree (including the village of Uriarra) and Stromlo, the Tuggeranong suburb of Kambah, and that portion of Tuggeranong District adjacent to Kambah to the west of Athllon Drive; and

Yerrabi, a 5-Member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin and Hall, the Belconnen suburbs of Evatt, Giralang, Kaleen, Lawson and McKellar and that portion of Belconnen District adjacent to the Barton Highway.

5 Objections to the proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly

Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

Written objections must be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission by 28 April 2015.

Objections should be lodged at:

ACT Electoral Commission Ground floor, North Building Civic Square, London Circuit CANBERRA ACT 2601

Email: elections@act.gov.au

Postal Address: PO Box 272, CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

Fax: (02) 6205 0382

For further information

Phone: (02) 6205 0033

Email: elections@act.gov.au

Who considers objections?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposal will be considered by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission.

The Augmented Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Roger Beale), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Phillip Green, who is the presiding member of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Ms Dawn Casey) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority (Ms Dorte Ekelund), the ACT Surveyor-General (Mr Jeffrey Brown) and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics (Ms Cassandra Gligora).

The Augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Phillip Green - Dorte Ekelund - Jeffrey Brown - Cassandra Gligora

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory 30 March 2015

Map showing the proposed redistribution

