# Australian Capital Territory

# Electoral (Redistribution Committee – Establishment and Appointment) Notice 2018

### Notifiable instrument NI2018 -594

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 39 (Redistribution committees)

### 1 Name of instrument

This instrument is the *Electoral (Redistribution Committee – Establishment and Appointment) Notice 2018.* 

## 2 Commencement

This instrument commences on the day after it is notified.

### 3 Establishment of Redistribution Committee

A Redistribution Committee is established for the purposes of Part 4 of the *Electoral Act 1992* for the redistribution process required before each ordinary general election.

Note: In accordance with section 37 of the Electoral Act 1992, a redistribution process shall begin as soon as practicable after the beginning of the period of 2 years ending on the end of the 3rd Saturday in October in the year when the next ordinary election is due to be held. The next ordinary election is due to be held on 17 October 2020.

## 4 Appointment of Member of the Redistribution Committee

Ms Beidar Bianca Cho, the person nominally occupying the role of Director of Demography, Australian Bureau of Statistics, being a person whose qualifications and experience would, in the opinion of the Electoral Commission, enable the person to assist the Redistribution Committee, is appointed to the Committee under section 39(3) of the *Electoral Act 1992*.

# 5 Expiry

This instrument expires on the day after the dissolution of the Redistribution Committee under section 45 of the *Electoral Act 1992*.

Dawn Casey Chairperson ACT Electoral Commission

24 October 2018

Damian Cantwell AM Electoral Commissioner ACT Electoral Commission Philip Moss AM Member ACT Electoral Commission

24 October 2018

24 October 2018