Electoral (Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly) Notice 2023

Notifiable instrument NI 2023 - 249

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 44 (Notification and publication of proposal)

1 Name of instrument

This instrument is the *Electoral (Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly) Notice 2023.*

2 Commencement

This instrument commences the day after it is notified.

3 Documents available for public inspection

The 2023 ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed redistribution of the electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly.

This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates and a description of the composition of each electorate.

The Redistribution Committee has prepared a report on its proposed redistribution including its statement of reasons for the proposed redistribution.

The following information is available for public inspection at the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, Nara Centre, 3 Constitution Avenue, Canberra City and on the ACT Electoral Commission website www.elections.act.gov.au:

- (a) Suggestions and comments given to the Redistribution Committee in accordance with section 41 of the Electoral Act:
- (b) A written description and a map of the boundaries of each proposed electorate;
- (c) A statement of the number of Members of the ACT Legislative Assembly proposed to be elected from each proposed electorate; and
- (d) The Redistribution Committee's report on its proposed redistribution including its statement of reasons for the proposed electorates.

4 Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly

The Committee proposes that the electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly be as follows:

Brindabella, a five-Member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong and the districts of Booth, Cotter River, Paddy's River, Rendezvous Creek, Tennent and Mount Clear;

Ginninderra, a five-Member electorate comprising the district of Belconnen (excluding the suburbs of Giralang and Kaleen);

Kurrajong, a five-Member electorate comprising the district of Canberra Central (excluding the localities of Deakin, Forrest, Red Hill and Yarralumla), and the districts of Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen and Majura;

Murrumbidgee, a five-Member electorate comprising the districts of Molonglo Valley, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Coree (including the village of Uriarra) and Stromlo, and the Canberra Central localities of Deakin, Forrest, Red Hill and Yarralumla; and

Yerrabi, a five-Member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin and Hall and the Belconnen District suburbs of Giralang and Kaleen.

5 Objections to the proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly

Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

Written objections must be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission by Friday, **9 June 2023**.

Objections should be lodged either:

In person at:

ACT Electoral Commission Nara Centre 3 Constitution Avenue CANBERRA ACT 2601

By email at:

redistribution@act.gov.au

By post at:

GPO Box 172, CANBERRA CITY ACT 2601

For further information

Phone: (02) 6205 0033

Email: redistribution@act.gov.au

Who considers objections?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposal will be considered by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission.

The Augmented Electoral Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr David Kalisch), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Damian Cantwell AM CSC, who is the presiding member of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Ed Killesteyn) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: ACT Planning and Land Authority (Mr Ben Ponton), the ACT Surveyor-General (Mr Greg Ledwidge) and the Director of Demography, Australian Bureau of Statistics (Ms Beidar Cho).

The Augmented Electoral Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Damian Cantwell AM CSC - Ben Ponton - Greg Ledwidge - Beidar Cho

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory 9 May 2023

Map showing the proposed redistribution

