

Regulations 1992 No. 8¹

Public Health (Infectious and Notifiable Diseases) Regulations (Amendment)

The Australian Capital Territory Executive hereby makes the following Regulations under the *Public Health Act 1928*.

Dated 30 May 1992.

WAYNE BERRY Minister

TERRY CONNOLLY
Minister

Principal Regulations

1. In these Regulations, "Principal Regulations" means the Public Health (Infectious and Notifiable Diseases) Regulations.²

Interpretation

- **2.** Regulation 3 is amended by omitting from subregulation (1) the definitions of "Infectious Disease" and "Notifiable Disease" and substituting the following definitions:
 - "'infectious disease' means a disease specified in Schedule 3;

'notifiable disease' means a disease specified in Schedule 4;".

Addition

3. The Principal Regulations are amended by adding at the end the following Schedules:

SCHEDULE 3

Subregulation 3 (1)

INFECTIOUS DISEASES

Botulism

Campylobacteriosis

Chlamydial disease (not elsewhere classified)

Cholera

Diphtheria

Food Poisoning (not elsewhere classified)

Haemophilus influenzae type b infection

Hepatitis A

Hepatitis B

Hepatitis C

Hepatitis (viral, not elsewhere classified)

Legionellosis

Leprosy

Measles

Meningococcal infection

Mumps

Pertussis

Plague

Poliomyelitis

Rabies

Rubella

Salmonellosis (not elsewhere classified)

Shigellosis

Tuberculosis

Typhoid and paratyphoid

Viral haemorrhagic fever

Yersiniosis

SCHEDULE 4

Subregulation 3 (1)

NOTIFIABLE DISEASES

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome

Anthrax

Arbovirus infection (not elsewhere classified)

Brucellosis

Dengue

Hydatid infection

Leptospirosis

SCHEDULE 3—continued

Listeriosis

Malaria

Psittacosis and other forms of Ornithosis

Q fever

Ross River virus infection

Tetanus

Yellow fever

NOTES

- 1. Notified in the ACT Gazette on 9 June 1992.
- 2. Regulations made on 12 December 1930 as amended to date. For previous amendments see the tables in Note 1 to the Public Health (Infectious and Notifiable Diseases) Regulations (as reprinted as at 31 October 1991).

© Australian Capital Territory 1992