

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Regulations 1992 No. 9¹

Evidence Regulations

I, MICHAEL DUFFY, Attorney-General, hereby make the following Regulations under the *Evidence Ordinance 1971*.

Dated 21 May 1992.

MICHAEL DUFFY Attorney-General

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

Citation

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Evidence Regulations.

Interpretation

2. In these Regulations, unless the contrary intention appears—

"Ordinance" means the Evidence Ordinance 1971.

Judicial authorities—Part XIIA of the Ordinance

3. For the purposes of the definition of "judicial authority" in section 85B of the Ordinance—

- (a) the Supreme Court of New South Wales, the District Court of that State and each Local Court of that State are prescribed as judicial authorities for that State;
- (b) the Supreme Court of Victoria, the County Court of that State and the Magistrates' Court of that State are prescribed as judicial authorities for that State;
- (c) the Supreme Court of Queensland, each District Court of that State and the Magistrates Court of that State are prescribed as judicial authorities for that State;
- (d) the Supreme Court of South Australia, each District Criminal Court of that State, each Local Court of that State and each Court of Summary Jurisdiction of that State are prescribed as judicial authorities for that State;
- (e) the Supreme Court of Tasmania, each Court of Petty Sessions of that State and each Court of Requests of that State are prescribed as judicial authorities for that State;
- (f) the Supreme Court of Western Australia is prescribed as a judicial authority for that State;
- (g) the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory, each Judge of the Supreme Court of that Territory and each Magistrate of that Territory are prescribed as judicial authorities for that Territory;
- (h) the Supreme Court of Christmas Island is prescribed as a judicial authority for the Territory of Christmas Island;
- (i) the Supreme Court of Norfolk Island is prescribed as a judicial authority for the Coral Sea Islands Territory and for the Territory of Norfolk Island;

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

2

- (j) the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory is prescribed as a judicial authority for the Territory of Ashmore and Cartier Islands; and
- (k) the Supreme Court of the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands is prescribed as a judicial authority for that Territory.

NOTE

1. Notified in the Commonwealth of Australia Gazette on 17 June 1992.

© Australian Capital Territory 1992

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au